crazy-train

I’ve just got back from picking up my niece so Catherine can take her out shopping . Alisha had her birthday a few weeks back, so this is her treat. While driving to collect her, I asked Luke, my son, if he wanted to look through the CDs for something different to put on.

Currently I’m listening to Bastille’s Bad Blood, which I rather like. 

Luke plucked the ‘Ultimate sin’ by Ozzy and while I’m an Ozzy fan, this particular album isn’t what you’d call his greatest work. However, updated to it’s quality and undeterred, Luke continued foraging.

Luke’s face lit up when he produced Ozzy’s greatest hits. We both agreed it’d be better listening and after I put it on I stopped at at Crazy train. Luke absolutely loves this song and sure enough his eyes were closed and across his face was the biggest, broadest smile. Awesome.

I love seeing my kids happy and after I’d glanced over at Luke, something stuck me. I’d never, ever been that happy with either of my parents in my entire life. For both my brother and myself as children, life was nothing short of a misery. Jason, my brother and my best friend, was a promising footballer and had scouts watching him on a regular basis. Of course he had no idea he was any good. I mean how could he when neither mum or dad had a nice thing to say about the pair of us. I’m not saying he’d have been a Lionel Messy,  no, but Jason was young enough to be taught and he was , in my opinion – an extremely talented athlete. But that chance went begging because he was helped or encouraged. Christ, my father wouldn’t even buy him a new pair of boots when he outgrew his last. 

To all the dads that might read this. I want you to imagine your child or children somehow get recognised and scouted for something they love doing; how happy would you be? Nay, not how happy. I mean how delighted, delirious or over the moon would you be. As parents all want is to see our kids happy and watching my son, eyes closed nodding his head to the music, brought a tear to my eye. 

Matt…

